Government Hall of Fame Gala Honors Unwavering Dedication to Public Service in a Night of Celebration
2 minutes

Government Hall of Fame Gala Honors Unwavering Dedication to Public Service in a Night of Celebration 

Sept. 19, 2019

Washington, DC (September 19, 2019) – This evening, Government Executive hosted the first annual Government Hall of Fame Gala at the Washington National Cathedral. The gala, emceed by Major Garrett, Chief Washington Correspondent for CBS News, was attended by a number of noteworthy guestsAward winners Rep. Donna Shalala, Dwight Ink, Hubert T. Bell and speakers Secretary Wilbur Ross, Dana Deasy, and Kay Coles James were among the many Washington VIPs in attendance.

“This is an inspirational evening that reinforces my pride in being a public servant,” said Dr. France Córdova, Head of the National Science Foundation, as she took the stage to introduce the Masters category of the Theodore Roosevelt Government Leadership Awards. 

“I want to thank Government Executive for the idea to have a Government Hall of Fame. It’s so wonderful. I remember the hard times we had at OPM trying to get people to recognize us for our service,” reminisced Constance Berry Newman as she accepted her induction into the Government Hall of Fame. 

A full list of inductees for the Government Hall of Fame can be found here and a full list of honorees for the Teddies here.


About Government Executive Media Group

Government Executive Media Group (GEMG) is dedicated to providing federal, state, and local government leaders with trusted and useful insights, as well as best practices, to help them advance their organizations’ missions. Through its market-leading publications Government Executive, Nextgov, Defense One, and Route Fifty, GEMG reaches nearly two million government influencers nationwide each month across digital, print, and event offerings.

About the Government Hall of Fame Gala

The gala celebrated Government Executive’s two new awards programs, the Government Hall of Fame and the Theodore Roosevelt Government Leadership Awards (The Teddies). Members inducted into the inaugural class of the Government Hall of Fame were recognized for a lifetime of dedication to civil service and demonstrated sustained achievement in public service throughout their careers. The Teddies recipients are current federal employees who were celebrated for outstanding achievement in delivering on government’s promise to serve the American people. These annual awards highlight noteworthy accomplishments across the federal sector across the categories of Defenders, Pathfinders, Visionaries, Masters, Directors, and Partners.

Media Contact
Liz Stein | (240) 461-3053

More to Read >

May 14, 2024 | By Nick Wakeman